Library Board of Trustees

Talk BubbleTalk to the Board

The San Bernardino Public Library is governed by an administrative policy-making Library Board of Trustees as provided by Section 602 of the Charter of the City of San Bernardino.

James C. Pierson, President 
Present Term: August 2023 – Jan 2027
Appointed to Board: August 2023

Dr. Randy S. Clyde, Vice President

Present Term: June 2023 – Dec 2026
Appointed to Board: June 2023

Ms. Carolyn Tillman
Present Term: May 2013 - November 2020
Appointed to Board: June 2004

Valerie Lichtman
Present Term: October 2018 - October 2022
Appointed to Board: October 2013

Jennifer Grant
Present Term: November 2019 - October 2022
Appointed to Board: November 2019

Regular Board meetings are normally held on the second Tuesday of each month at 3 p.m.

Library Board Agendas and Minutes

Mission Statement
The mission of the San Bernardino Public Library is to provide free access to the world of ideas, information and creative experience for all citizens of San Bernardino. The Library is a cultural center where the people of San Bernardino come together to learn and participate in public discourse. It aids the community in the creation of informed and educated citizenry and provides opportunities for free lifelong learning and economic improvement.

Library Board of Trustees By-laws
City Charter Section 602
San Bernardino City Charter
Brown Act